R.I.P. Robin Williams

The death of a celebrity doesn’t usually affect me, but the death of Robin Williams did. It did for two reasons. One, he killed himself. Suicide is always shocking, but it’s especially shocking to strangers who assume he had it all. Two, I grew up on Robin Williams. He helped shape my life even though we never met. From Mork & Mindy, Good Morning Vietnam, Dead Poet’s Society, Hook, Aladdin, Mrs. Doubtfire, The Birdcage, and Good Will Hunting to What Dreams My Come, Patch Adams, One Hour Photo, Death to Smoochy, and Night at the Museum, his roles are peppered throughout my life, and they influenced me. His films are largely responsible for my career choice, my zest for learning, my sense of humor, and even my hopes for the afterlife. I hope he is now at peace. I also hope he has found the joy that he gave to so many of us.

Leave a Reply

